A speedier entry to the UK is about to be introduced for Singapore and South Korea travellers

Singapore and South Korea have been added to a list of 7 countries (including also US, Canada, New Zealand, Australia and Japan) whose nationals will be able to use the e-Passports gates when going through border controls at UK airports.

The new procedures will be introduced starting from summer 2019 and have been approved by the UK Government as part of its plan to develop a new immigration system once the Country will not be part of EU anymore.

The ePassport gates allow eligible travellers to be processed quickly and securely thanks to the facial recognition technology, which compares the passenger’s face to the digital image recorded in their passport. The system is monitored by Border Force officers and it definitely provides a faster rout through the border.

At the moment, 259 ePassport gates are in operation at 14 ports around the UK and juxtaposed control locations. They can be used by passengers aged 18 and over, and who are travelling using a biometric or ‘chipped’ passport. Passengers from 12 to 17 years old can still use them if they are accompanied by an adult.

The UK Home Office have estimated that additional 6.5 million passengers will use the gates once the new procedures will be in place, speeding up the process for legitimate travellers and avoiding long queues at the airports.


1 comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.